Cups and Spoons – Do they matter?


Many years ago, I was standing in the kitchen next to my friends’ mother learning how to make macarona bil bachamel sauce.  I LOVED her recipe and I really wanted to learn.  So, here’s what she said: “Oh, you put a little of this, a lot of that.”  Me:   “But, how much exactly: a cup?  two cups?”  My friend’s mom: “Oh, until you think it’s enough.”

Well, my friend’s mother, bless her soul, was an amazing cook.  She always seemed to make the bachamel sauce exactly the same way.  How?  I have no idea – maybe it’s an Egyptian talent.  But, unfortunately, God did not choose to gift me with this talent.  When I cook, I need to know measurements.  I need to know that every time I make our favorite meal, it’ll come out the same, tasty way.  I admit sometimes I try it the Egyptian way and there are some meals I always cook like that, but I almost always need to use exact measurements.

All the recipes we will post on Alf Hana with include measurements.  These measurements are based on the measuring cups and spoons you can buy in most supermarkets [YES, you can find them in Egypt].  Usually they come in a set.  For cups, you will find (from greatest to least):

  • one cup
  • one half of a cup
  • one-third of a cup
  • one-quarter of a cup

Measuring cups

For spoons, you will usually find (again from greatest to least):

  • tablespoon
  • one half a tablespoon
  • teaspoon
  • one half a teaspoon
  • one-quarter of a teaspoon
  • one-eighth of a teaspoon

Measuring spoons

As you can see, these tools will help you make exact measurements as you cook, so you can follow a recipe, or at least be sure that your creation will consistently turn out yummy!

*Take care! Just like many systems of measurement, sometimes you will find variety from country to country.  All the recipes we post will be using the following measurements:

  • 1 cup = 236.64 ml
  • 1/2 cup = 118.32 ml
  • 1/3 cup = 78.88 ml
  • 1/4 cup = 59.16 ml
  • 1 tablespoon = 15 ml
  • 1/2 tablespoon = 7.5 ml
  • 1 teaspoon = 5 ml
  • 1/2 teaspoon = 2.5 ml
  • 1/4 teaspoon = 1.25 ml
  • 1/8 teaspoon = .6 ml

Maybe I’ll never be able to cook  like my friend’s mother (what they call ‘bil baraka’ or with blessings), but I can try to get close by using my measuring cups and spoons.  What about you?

*Don’t worry!  We will be posting a macarona bil bachamel recipe soon!!!!!

2 responses to “Cups and Spoons – Do they matter?

  1. Pingback: How to replace eggs in your cooking… | Alf Hana

  2. Pingback: “ChocoNutins” (Chocolate Covered Peanuts and Raisins) | Alf Hana

Leave a Reply

