Celebrate World Vegan Day with Egyptian Okra


It was a struggle to pick out which recipe we would share today on World Vegan Day and the first day of Vegan MoFo.  But, at last, we decided it would have to Mary’s favorite dish:  Okra.  As someone who never cared much for okra, believe me, this is a delicious recipe!

This recipe is based on Mary’s mother’s recipe.

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 1 bag of frozen okra
  • 5 small tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery salt (or regular table salt)
  • 1 vegetable bouillon cube
  • about 1 liter of water (depending on the consistency you want)

1.  Heat oil.  Add onions and garlic.  Cook about 3 minutes.

2.  Add salt and crumble in the bouillon cube.

Celery salt

3.  Add frozen okra, stir.

Frozen Okra

4.  Add tomatoes and water.
5.  Lower heat, cover, and simmer about 30 minutes or until okra is tender.


6.  Serve over rice.

Egyptian Okra

Nutrition information: (per 100 grams)

Calories: 21; Fat: 1g; Carbohydrates: 3g; Fiber: 1g; Protein: 1g

15 responses to “Celebrate World Vegan Day with Egyptian Okra

  1. Looks yummy, but what is this orka? Is there any other name for it?

  2. If you’re looking for the Arabic word for Okra, it is “bamia” or بامية.

  3. Pingback: Celebrate World Vegan Day with Egyptian Okra | Alf Hana | Indian Chef | Recipe Blog

  4. This looks delicious! Will you be making molokiyya this month?

  5. wow! how exciting! this is my first time discovering your blog, and I am so happy to find it! I can get into okra, and there’s plenty of it at the market these days, so maybe I’ll give this a try. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  6. Growing up in the Southern US, okra was a BIG part of my diet. And I love how you cook it here! Looks amazing!

    Happy W.V.D. & MoFo’ing!

  7. ZOMG! That okra is so tiny and adorable!!!!

  8. Looks great! Still haven’t tried okra, but that dish looks tasty. 🙂 And actually, I haven’t experienced much of Egyptian cuisine, so I’m glad I found your blog, too!

  9. i would take this dish at any time of they day for any meal. please wake me up when it is ready, and i will devour it–with gusto.

    xo
    kittee

  10. You are all so kind!!! Yes, as I said – I wasn’t an okra lover until Mary convinced me to try this recipe! So, hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

    celyn – yes! Molokheiya is on the list for next week! I, for one, can’t wait!!!!

  11. Oh my gosh, tiny okras! Our okra is much bigger so we generally chop them up to cook them. We love okra though! I also love your blog.

  12. I LOVE okra and I never cook with it! Go figure!!
    I’ll keep my eyes open for the frozen stuff.
    Happy MoFo’ing.
    🙂

  13. Jeni: You may also use fresh – sometimes we like to take advantage of conveniences!! It’ll probably taste even better!

  14. Pingback: Rice Pudding (Egyptian and Vegan!) | Alf Hana

Leave a Reply

