For the Love of Lentils: Brown Lentil Soup


Oh, dear lentil, how I love thee!!!! Let me count the ways!!!

One of the easiest ways is this brown lentil soup. Egyptians affectionately call it ‘lentils with a hat’. It packs a powerful protein punch, is full of iron and fiber and low on fat and calories.  Perfect!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dried brown lentils
  • 8 cups water
  • 2 vegetable bouillon cubes
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced

Serves: 4-6
Instructions:
1.  Wash the lentils and pick out any small stones or dirt.

 

Dry brown lentils

2.  Put them in a large pot with the water, bouillon cubes, and garlic.
3.  Cover and cook on low heat for 45 minutes to an hour.
4.  Salt to taste.

Nutrition Information: (per 100 grams)

Calories: 51; Fat: 0g; Carbohydrates: 9g; Fiber: 4g; Protein: 4g

Serving suggestions and variations:
Serve this with raw green or red onions and pita or baladi (or pita) bread.

Brown Lentil Soup, Green Onions and Baladi Bread

Also, you may add greens like chard to add flavor and nutrients.

11 responses to “For the Love of Lentils: Brown Lentil Soup

  1. I’m lovin’ this blog!

  2. I love lentil soup – that looks so easy!

  3. This blog is wonderful – so glad you’ve joined MoFo this year! Everything looks delicious, but I’m especially excited to see a brown lentil soup recipe – it’s one of my favorite meals. I finally got into the habit of keeping sprouted lentils in my fridge at all times (in part because the site of their little sprouted ‘tails’ freaks my husband out), and I make lentil soup almost every single night as a little treat before I turn in.

    Can’t wait to see some more veganized Egyptian meals in the weeks to come!
    ~Monika

  4. Pingback: Rice Pudding (Egyptian and Vegan!) | Alf Hana

  5. So everyone is loving the brown lentils; no mention of the specially egyptian trick of eating raw ” green onions”. Too strong for you guys?!

  6. Pingback: Try new plant based recipes during St. Mary’s fast | Alf Hana

  7. Maha Mourad Barsoom

    I love how easy this is!!! I remember eating it at Mary’s, her mom used to make the best brown lentils in the world. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

