Egyptian Style Zucchini Stew


Have I mentioned that I love zucchini?  Well, I do!!!  In fact, I like it every single way I’ve tried it!  Here’s the most common way Egyptians serve zucchini.  It’s a good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin K, Riboflavin, Folate and Magnesium, and a very good source of Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Potassium and Manganese.  So, eat up!

Serves 4
Ingredients:
4-5 medium zucchini (about 400 grams), sliced
2 tomatoes, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 vegetable bouillon cube
500-700 ml water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon tomato paste

Instructions:
1.  Fry onion in oil, for about 5 minutes.
2.  Add the bouillon cube, crumbled, to the onion.  Add the tomato paste.  Cook for another 3 minutes.


3.  Add the zucchini and tomatoes and cook another 5 to 10 minutes.


4.  Add the water.
5.  Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally for 30-45 minutes.

Serving Suggestions and Variations:
Serve with rice or balady (pita) bread.
Put the tomatoes in a blender before adding them to the stew for a smoother texture.

Nutritional Information for 100 grams:
Calories: 21; Fat: 1g; Cholesterol: 0g; Carbohydrates: 3g; Fiber: 1g; Protein: 1g

Alf Hana!!!

9 responses to “Egyptian Style Zucchini Stew

  1. Looks just delicious, no surprise! I have really loved reading your posts this MoFo, and I hope to read many more of your blog posts throughout the year or next autumn during the Vegan Month of Food. Have a lovely rest of the year!

    • Hey, celyn!!! Thank you so much!!! We have definitely enjoyed veganizing some common Egyptian favorites! We are already planning for some the new posts coming up soon and will definitely participate next VeganMoFo! Thanks again for all your encouragement!

  2. Maha Mourad Barsoom

    This zucchini recipe looks delicous. I have another similar one that I thought I should share with you and I am sure you will love. It contains almost the same ingredients. Slice all the vegetables into thin round slices, the onions, tomatoes and zucchini and put them in seperate bowls. Sprinkle salt, black pepper, some olive oil and some lemon juice on each kind separately and mix well. In your cooking pot start with layering the vegetables alternately and repeat until all the vegetables are in the pot, starting with a layer of onions, then a layer of zucchini and then a layer of tomatoes. Keep repeating the layers of the vegetables in the same order until all the vegetables are all in the pot. You can use as much vegetables as you want according to the number of servings desired.
    Cover the pot with a good tight lid, put on the stove on very low heat and do not add any water or any liquids. By cooking the vegetables on very low heat for 1 hour if it is a small pot and 2 hours for bigger pot, all the vegetables will cook in their own juices and you will end up with a delicous sauce.
    Serve with white or fried rice or rice with she3reya (small vermacillie noudles).

  3. I love the Internet – I was searching for “Zucchini, Egyptian-style,” and found this wonderful site. Love the recipe in the main post, and Maha’s awesome suggestion in comments. Thanks for the delicious late-summer treats.

  4. I am so glad that you like my suggestion. My dad used to cook this dish for us sometimes on the week-end to help mom out. It was his speciality! It has an amazing flavour and makes the house smells very nice.We all loved it and now I cook it for my own kids and I use the zucchini and tomatoes from my vegetable garden.

  5. Thanks for the nice welcome, pharaohscat! And Maha, thanks for sharing your memory of your dad cooking for you. I bet your kids love his special recipe.

  6. I know the taste. This is quite basic and simple, almost the same way my mother makes it. Simple dishes are sometimes tastier than difficult ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

